Q: What should the table look like when this case is set up properly?

Q: Does each jump attempt require an action?

A: No. You may use the Attempt the Jump action only once on your turn, but you make as many attempts as ideas you committed to the action (e.g. committing 3 ideas to the action allows you to make 3 attempts).

Q: Where do the ideas come from that are used for attempting the jump?

A: The ideas you spend on this action come from your personal supply. If you make the jump, the ideas you flicked, those remaining from your initial commitment, and the bonus retrieved from the discard area, all return to your personal supply. Each token that misses the mark returns to the general supply.